Pops It’s Your Birthday!

It’s days like these that remind me how lucky I am. Today my father is SEVENTY-ONE years old. 71! Damn, he’s old. 😉   We took him to a local restaurant for lunch, and enjoyed watching my 5 year old nephew freak out to Cars 2 trailers on the iPad. Not HIS iPad of course…Well, he THINKS it’s his. Back to my topic, me, lucky. I look at my father, whom I call Papa (as in paw-paw), and I feel as though I am the luckiest girl in the world, and no one else knows what it feels like to have a father. (of course, they do. But still.) My Papa is such a great guy. Always so positive, always so awesome. He has been supportive of me for 28 years, and will continue to be supportive and encourage for many, many years to come. He always knows how to make me smile, make me laugh. We share a love of watching cooking shows together, Sam Adams beer, and of course, arguing about politics. He’s Republican, and I’m well… He likes calling me a crazy leftest Liberal. Two peas in a pod, eh? No matter what, he’s my papa, and I love him like bread loves butter. With all of my butt. Because my butt is bigger than my heart. Hehehe 🙂

This August he says hello to his second grandchild, my new niece, Ellie Mia. Talking about a new child in the family makes his eyes sparkle, and I can tell he will spoil the crap out of this little girl. She will get to know his smile, the sparkle in his eye, the wrath of his tickling, and his list of nicknames that he never stops adding to.  And she will know his love. His never ending, unconditional (even when you say like Pelosi), and stronger than steel, love.

Papa, today you are 71, and still the #1 man in my life. I love you. Spending lunch with you today was a great way to start out the holiday weekend. Thank you!

Love,

Your Punkette

Leave a Reply

